Kansas Health Professionals earn patient safety credentials

Eight health care professionals throughout the state of Kansas were recently recognized by the Certification Board for Professionals in Patient Safety (CBPPS) as Certified Professionals in Patient Safety (CPPS). Their certification is the culmination of a year-long professional development initiative that was made possible through scholarships from Kansas Healthcare Collaborative.

Michele Clark  Tereasa DeMeritt  Kesa Easter  Niki Griffith  Brett Hartkopp  Gregg Holt  Sarah Hoy  Renee Janssen

The eight recipients represent a wide geographic distribution of health care services from Kansas City to Columbus and Newton to Coffeyville. They include individuals who have been active in the Kansas Hospital Improvement Innovation Network (HIIN):

  • Michele Clark, MBA, CPHQ, ABC, CPPS, Program Director, Kansas Healthcare Collaborative, Topeka;
  • Tereasa DeMeritt, MHA, MSN, RN, APRN-NP-c, CPPS, Quality Case Management/Social Services, Infection Control, Trauma and Stroke Director, Hospitalist Program, Accreditation Coordinator, Labette Health, Parsons;
  • Kesa Easter, MBA, CPPS, Patient and Family Engagement Coordinator, Quality & Analytics Department, Newton Medical Center, Newton;
  • Niki Griffith, RN, BSN, CPPS, Quality Coordinator/Patient Safety Officer, Pratt Regional Medical Center, Pratt;
  • Brett Hartkopp, BSN, RN, CPPS, VP Quality & Infection Prevention, Wesley Medical Center, Wichita;
  • Gregg Holt, RN, BSN, CPPS, Manager Med/Surg/OPS, Quality Coordinator, Mercy Hospital, Columbus;
  • Sarah Hoy, RN, BSN, CPPS, Senior Director of Quality Services and Performance Improvement,
  • Coffeyville Regional Medical Center, Coffeyville;
  • Renee Janssen, RN, BSN, CPHRM, CPPS, Director, Risk Management Providence Medical Center/Saint John Hospital, Kansas City.

These health care professionals earned this credential in part by passing a rigorous, evidence-based examination that tests candidates on their competency in patient safety science and application. They are now privileged to use the CPPS credential.

“Earning this credential attests to the professional competency in patient safety science and application of these individuals,” said Tejal K. Gandhi, MD, MPH, CPPS, President, CBPPS. “This achievement demonstrates their expertise in this critical discipline and positions them among those committed to and leading patient safety work.”

“These eight Kansans, from hospitals, clinics and health care organizations across the state, began this process over a year ago with an investment in their professional development,” said Kendra Tinsley, KHC executive director and another recipient of CPPS certification. “We recognize them for the extensive time and effort they have contributed to expanding the leadership for improved health care in Kansas.”

About CBPPS: The Certification Board for Professionals in Patient Safety (CBPPS) was established by, but is a separate organizational entity from, the National Patient Safety Foundation, and was created to advance, standardize, and promote patient safety knowledge competencies for health care professionals. To this end, successful completion of the rigorously-designed Certified Professional in Patient Safety (CPPS) exam attests to candidates’ knowledge of essential patient safety competencies, upon which time the board confers the CPPS credential. Those attaining the CPPS designation represent a group of committed professionals from across health care who are determined to advance the patient safety field and make the health care system safer for all. To learn more, go to www.cbpps.org.

Pictured above:  Top Row: Michele Clark, Tereasa DeMeritt, Kesa Easter, Niki Griffith
Bottom Row: Brett Hartkopp, Gregg Holt, Sarah Hoy, Renee Janssen                        

by Toni Dixon

(posted September 29, 2017)