Kansas health care professionals awarded National Patient Safety Foundation (NPSF) Immersion Initiative scholarships

Ten Kansas patient safety leaders will soon begin a year-long professional development initiative with the goal to achieve the Certified Professional Patient Safety (CPPS) credential. The scholarship awards were announced by the Kansas Healthcare Collaborative.

“KHC is thrilled to offer this professional development opportunity to individuals who have demonstrated their commitment and dedication to improving patient care for Kansans,” said Kendra Tinsley, KHC executive director. “Together we are building capacity and leadership for improved health care in Kansas.”

Through the NPSF opportunity, participants receive a membership in the American Society of Professionals in Patient Safety, access to the NPSF Online Patient Safety Curriculum, including a CPPS review course and credentialing examination.

Scholarship awardees include individuals who have been active in the Kansas Hospital Engagement Network (HEN):

  • Jessica Buchholz, RN, Quality Director/Infection Prevention/ Employee Health, Trego County Lemke Memorial Hospital, WaKeeney;
  • Kesa Easter, MBA, Patient and Family Engagement Coordinator, Quality & Analytics Department, Newton Medical Center, Newton;
  • Tereasa DeMeritt, RN, MSN, APRN, NPc, Director of Quality, Labette Health, Parsons;
  • Niki Griffith, RN, BSN, Quality Coordinator/Patient Safety Officer, Pratt Regional Medical Center, Pratt;
  • Brett Hartkopp, BSN, RN, Market Director Quality, Infection Prevention and Safety, Wesley Medical Center, Wichita;
  • Gregg Holt, RN, Manager Med/Surg/OPS, Quality Coordinator, Mercy Hospital, Columbus;
  • Sarah Hoy, RN, BSN, Director of Quality Improvement/Risk Management, Compliance Officer, Coffeyville Regional Medical Center, Coffeyville;
  • Renee Janssen, RN, BSN, CPHRM, Director, Risk Management Providence Medical Center/Saint John Hospital, Kansas City;
  • Michele Clark, MBA, CPHQ, ABC, Program Director, Kansas Healthcare Collaborative, Topeka; and
  • Susan Runyan, MCIT, MHCL, Program Director, Kansas Healthcare Collaborative, Topeka.

KHC is a provider-led 501(c)3 organization with a mission to transform health care through patient-centered initiatives that improve quality, safety and value. Founded in 2008 by the Kansas Hospital Association and the Kansas Medical Society, KHC embodies the commitment of two of the state’s leading health care provider groups to act as a resource and continuously enhance the quality of care provided to Kansans. For more information about the Kansas Healthcare Collaborative and its initiatives, visit www.khconline.org.