Hospital quality leaders complete national fellows program

Kansas health care professionals representing 14 hospitals recently completed a national fellowship program to build skills and knowledge in leading quality and patient safety improvement initiatives within their facilities.

Thirty nurses, administrators and other key staff earned a certificate of completion in the 2015-16 Action Leader Fellowship program, conducted by the Health Research and Educational Trust (HRET), an affiliate of the American Hospital Association (AHA). Two levels of educational learning sessions were offered and led by faculty from the Institute for Healthcare Improvement, an internationally recognized health care improvement organization.

“We congratulate the Kansas health care professionals who made the commitment to complete this training program,” said Kendra Tinsley, executive director of the Kansas Healthcare Collaborative (KHC). “These individuals are making a real impact within their organizations and are emerging as quality leaders at the state and national levels.”

ALF group

HRET and KHC presented certificates of completion to the following foundational fellows:  Jessica Bates, Ashland Health Center; Janet Bruce, Hospital District #1 of Rice County; Kiley Floyd, Nemaha Valley Community Hospital; Judy Hodgson, Hospital District #1 of Rice County; Melissa Jones, Greenwood County Hospital; Lori Rexwinkle, Coffeyville Regional Medical Center; Christine Winkel, Mitchell County Hospital Health Systems; Julie Worcester, Lindsborg Community Hospital; and Marlena Bleil, Lisa Cavin-Wainscott, Susan Nigro, Katherine Rucker, and  Stan Stuckey of Olathe Medical Center.

Certificates of completion were presented to the following fellows in the experienced track: Stephanie Bjornstad, Rooks County Health Center; Jessica Buchholz, Trego County Lemke Memorial Hospital; Michele Clark, Kansas Healthcare Collaborative; Tereasa DeMeritt, Labette Health; Sarah Hoy, Coffeyville Regional Medical Center; Nelda Jeffery, Miami County Medical Center; Rachel Merrick, Labette Health; Dorothy Rice, Ransom Memorial Hospital; Deborah Richter, Lindsborg Community Hospital; as well as Tom Laughlin, Janiene Nash, Jennifer Nick-Helmstetler, Alicia Seckman, Nina Shik, Karen Super, Delana Thomas and Mariann Wolff, of Olathe Medical Center.

KHC is a provider-led 501(c)3 organization with a mission to transform health care through patient-centered initiatives that improve quality, safety and value. Founded in 2008 by the Kansas Hospital Association and the Kansas Medical Society, KHC embodies the commitment of two of the state’s leading health care provider groups to act as a resource and continuously enhance the quality of care provided to Kansans. For more information about the Kansas Healthcare Collaborative and its initiatives, visit